#### **DIVISION OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE TRAINING, FY 2022-2023**

Training for the Division of Criminal Justice (DCJ) is determined by state statutes, public acts, the Connecticut Practice Book as well as by union contract, division policy, inter-agency business practices, and by the recommendations of advisory committees and public organizations across the state, in service to the people of the State of Connecticut.

The DCJ is statutorily mandated to provide training opportunities that improve the division's services and programs. See, CGS § 51-279 (a)(8). As licensed Connecticut lawyers, prosecutors are required to fulfill annual, minimum legal education requirements of 12 credits, including 2 hours in ethics (see PB Section 2-27A); and as prosecutors they must fulfill annual continuing legal education mandated by CGS § 51-279c; their union contract (see, Collective Bargaining Agreement between State of Connecticut Division of Criminal Justice and Connecticut Association of Prosecutors, <u>Article 28, section 7</u>; and their employer's policy (see DCJ Policy 220 Professional Development, Paragraph 4). The DCJ is required to establish an annual training program for new prosecutors that is not less than 40 hours, and not less than 16 hours for all prosecutors.

Each year the division seeks to offer a training program that will not only allow prosecutors to fulfill their minimum required continuing education hours, but to also allow its employees to review best practices, apply legal updates and be influenced to improve the quality of the services they provide to the people of Connecticut. The execution of the training is often limited by the training budget, and costs often include expenses for venue, catering, mileage reimbursement for employees, and the cost for presenters and contracted programs. To fulfill statutory training standards as well as offer training that can influence effectual change in the practices of the DCJ relative to the people of Connecticut, the DCJ proposes an array of training, relevant to mandates in the next coming fiscal year.

For a summary of the legal mandate requiring not less than 40 hours for new prosecutors, and not less than 16 hours for all prosecutors as well as requiring the DCJ to offer training and education designed to improve the quality of the division's services and programs, see the "Legal Authority" section on pages 6-8 below.

#### **Proposed FY Trainings and Estimated Costs: Total \$153,140.00:**

#### **<u>\$ 15,000.00</u>** Annual Prosecutors Training-Best Practices and Legal Updates

<u>6 hours credit</u> for those who can attend.

(Day 1 of 2 required per CGS 51-279c; CT PB 2-27A(c)(6); Pros Union Contract Article 28, section 7 and the DCJ Policy 220 Professional Development) Based on 250 people:

Venue: \$5,305.00 (CCSU State Agency Rate); Catering: \$6,545.00 (Coffee: \$875.00; Breakfast Basics: \$1,750.00; Lunch: \$3,920); Mileage Reimbursement: \$3,150.00 (250 employees from various locations).

#### \$ 3,500.00 Annual Individual SAO Trainings- Best Practices and Legal Updates

<u>5 hours credit</u> for those who can attend.

(Day 2 of 2 required per CGS 51-279c; CT PB 2-27A(c)(6); Pros Union Contract Article 28, section 7 and the DCJ Policy 220 Professional Development)

Snacks: \$250 per office for 14 locations

# \$30,000.00 New Prosecutor- DASA Training (5 days)

#### <u>25 hours credit</u> for those who can attend.

(5 days of training required per CGS 51-279c; CT PB 2-27A(c)(6); Pros Union Contract Article 28, section 7 and the DCJ Policy 220 Professional Development)

Based on 80 people (DASA and New ASA who missed DASA training due to COVID)

Venue: \$ 11,000.00 (5 days) (\$2,200 per day -GCC= n-f-p rate; no break out rooms);

Catering: \$10,600 (5 days) (per day: Coffee: \$280; Breakfast Basics: \$560; Lunch: \$1,280.00);

Mileage Reimbursement: \$8,400.00 (80 employees from various locations for 5 days).

# **<u>\$26,000.00</u>** Cultural Competency, Diversity and Inclusion Training-Division Wide</u>

#### 2 hours credit.

Required to promote effectual change in communication skills between the DCJ and the people of the State of Connecticut, as influenced by Public Acts 19-59 and 20-1, and in service to CGS § 51-279 (a)(8).

Cost of Program to be presented by Cultural Competency Expert (Booker Empowerment, LLC): Approx. \$59 per person (442 employees).

#### \$10,000.00 Case Management System and Technology Training

#### 6 hours credit.

Case Management System is a new system that collect the data required to fulfill the legislation set forth in sections 1 and 2 of Public Act 19-59, An Act Increasing Fairness and Transparency in the Criminal Justice System, and in service to CGS § 51-279 (a)(8).

All DCJ employees must learn to utilize the technology and 10 employees will train others by visiting each of the 13 jurisdictions, a minimum of two times. First training session for computer set-up and general over-view of software. Second training session for all-day personalized training session.

Meal and Mileage reimbursement for 10 people, 26 days:

Meals: \$8,840.00 (26 days) (per day: Coffee: \$40; Breakfast: \$100; Lunch: \$200); Mileage Reimbursement: \$1,160.00 to 10 employees from various locations for 26 days.

#### \$ 5,000.00 Prosecutorial Reform Training Program

#### 2 hours credit.

Required to promote effectual change as influenced in service to Public Acts 19-59 and 20-1, and in service to CGS § 51-279 (a)(8); PB 2-27A(c)(6); Pros Union Contract Article 28, section 7 and DCJ Policy 220.

Venue: \$ 2,200 (GCC= non-prof. rate; no break out rooms) Catering: \$2,800 for Coffee and Basic Breakfast for 250 people

#### **\$ 5,000.00** Transparency and Police Accountability Acts Training

#### 2 hours credit.

Required to review and apply legal updates and transition to the practices mandates in service to Public Acts 19-59 and 20-1, and in service to CGS § 51-279 (a)(8); PB 2-27A(c)(6); Pros Union Contract Article 28, section 7 and DCJ Policy 220.

Venue: \$ 2,200 (GCC= non-prof. rate; no break out rooms) Catering: \$2,800 for Coffee and Basic Breakfast for 250 people

# \$20,000.00 Trauma Informed Criminal Justice Training- GAINS Center

#### 5 hours credit.

Required to promote effectual change as influenced in service to Public Acts 19-59 and 20-1, as well as in consideration for the training requirements set forth in section 2 of Public Act 18-5, and in service to CGS § 51-279 (a)(8); PB 2-27A(c)(6); Pros Union Contract Article 28, section 7 and DCJ Policy 220.

In respect to domestic violence, this training will teach prosecutors to effectuate change in the relationship between individuals suffering from mental illness and law enforcement.

Cost of Program: \$20,000.00, "How Being Trauma-Informed Improves Criminal Justice System Responses" by SAMHSA of the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services.

#### \$ 9,000.00 Body-Cam/Taser Training

<u>5 hours credit</u> for those who can attend.

Required in response to the legislative mandates in Public Act 20-1, and in service to CGS § 51-279 (a) (8); PB 2-27A(c) (6); Pros Union Contract Article 28, section 7 and DCJ Policy 220.

Prosecutors, inspectors and investigators must gain training in the use of body cams and tasers in criminal cases, for thorough investigations, to prosecute effectively, and keep the public safe and protect innocent people, in service to Public Act 20-1: An Act Concerning Police Accountability.

Cost of Program: \$30 per person (Axon Academy internal instructor course-online)

# \$16,835.00 Smart Phone Analysis-Cellebrite Tech Training

<u>10 hours credit</u> for those who can attend.

Required to promote effectual change as influenced in service to Public Acts 19-59 and 20-1, as well as in consideration for the training requirements set forth in section 2 of Public Act 18-5, and in service to CGS § 51-279 (a)(8); PB 2-27A(c)(6); Pros Union Contract Article 28, section 7 and DCJ Policy 220.

One prosecutor in each of the 13 jurisdictions that gains training in the use of technology in criminal cases, as technology is used to commit crimes, prosecutors must know how to use tech tools to investigate to investigate and prosecute effectively, to keep the public safe and protect innocent people. In further service to Public Acts 18-5, 19-59 and 20-1.

Cost of Program: \$1,295 per person (Cellebrite Mobile Forensics Fundamentals course)

# \$ 190.00 Acct/HR staff training (In-Service)

#### <u>6 hours credit</u> for those who can attend.

#### Required in service to CGS § 51-279 (a)(8).

Necessary to ensure quality skills for administrative staff to make a positive contribution to daily operations of the division, in service to the people of the State of Connecticut.

Cost of Program: Excel Intermediate and Excel Advanced courses (\$95 per course)

# \$ 2,000.00 Clerical Staff Training (In Service)

# <u>6 hours credit</u> for those who can attend.

# Required in service to CGS § 51-279 (a)(8).

Necessary to ensure quality skills for clerical, to make a positive contribution to daily operations of the division, in service to the people of the State of Connecticut.

Cost of Program: Adobe Pro and MS Word (\$95 per course), this may allow at least one clerical from each of the offices to develop necessary skills to fulfill daily operations.

# <u>\$ 5,400.00 Management/Supervisor Training (In-Service)</u>

# <u>12 hours credit</u> for those who can attend.

# Required in service to CGS § 51-279 (a)(8).

Necessary to ensure quality skills for new supervisors, to make a positive contribution to daily operations of the division, in service to the people of the State of Connecticut.

Cost of Program: First Time Supervisor Part 1 and 2 (\$300 per course)

# \$ 1,595.00 Annual BODE DNA Conference for Cold Case Unit

# 18 hours credit for those who can attend.

#### Required in service to CGS § 51-279 (a)(8); PB 2-27A(c)(6); Pros Union Contract Article 28, section 7 and the DCJ Policy 220 Professional Development.

Registration costs \$145 per person. There are multiple employees who work with cold cases and must have annual training to keep up with best legal practices as required by CGS 51-279 and PB 2-27A.

# \$ 470.00 Annual International Family Justice Center Conference

#### 10 hours credit for those who can attend.

# Required in service to CGS § 51-279 (a)(8); PB 2-27A(c) (6); Pros Union Contract Article 28, section 7 and the DCJ Policy 220 Professional Development.

Registration costs \$470 per person; allows a single prosecutor to attend and annual training to keep up with best legal practices as required by CGS 51-279, PB 2-27A and PA 18-5.

# \$ 3,150.00 Abusive Head Trauma/Shaken Baby Syndrome Conference

# <u>10 hours credit</u> for those who can attend.

Required in service to Public Act 18-5; CGS § 51-279 (a)(8); PB 2-27A(c)(6); Pros Union Contract Article 28, section 7 and the DCJ Policy 220 Professional Development.

Registration costs \$175 per person, allows prosecutors from each jurisdiction to attend annual training to keep up with best legal practices as required by CGS 51-279, PB 2-27A and PA 18-5.

# LEGAL AUTHORITY:

# **Connecticut General Statutes**

**<u>CGS 51-279(a)(8)</u>**: "Sec. 51-279. Duties of Chief State's Attorney. Budget. (a) The Chief State's Attorney, with the advice of the Division of Criminal Justice Advisory Board under section 51-279a, shall administer, direct, supervise, coordinate and control the operations, activities and programs of the division as it shall apply to the Superior Court. He shall:... 8) establish staff development, training and education programs designed to improve the quality of the division's services and programs;"

**<u>CGS 51-279c</u>:** "Sec. 51-279c. Training program for prosecuting attorneys. The Chief State's Attorney shall establish a formal training program for all newly-appointed prosecuting attorneys consisting of not less than five days and an ongoing training program for all prosecuting attorneys consisting of not less than two days each year. Such training programs shall commence January 1, 1998."

# Connecticut Practice Book

**PB Section 2-27A (a):** "Sec. 2-27A. Minimum Continuing Legal Education (a) On an annual basis, each attorney admitted in Connecticut shall certify, on the registration form required by Section 2-27 (d), that the attorney has completed in the last calendar year no less than twelve credit hours of appropriate continuing legal education, at least two hours of which shall be in ethics/professionalism."

**PB Section 2-27A(c)(6):** "To be eligible for continuing legal education credit, the course or activity must: (A) have significant intellectual or practical content designed to increase or maintain the attorney's professional competence and skills as a lawyer; (B) constitute an organized program of learning dealing with matters directly related to legal subjects and the legal profession;"

#### Public Acts

#### Public Act 20-1: An Act Concerning Police Accountability

A Public Act that contains provisions on reshaping policing, and it includes legal changes relative to the use force standards; open records; stop & frisk; decertification of police; implementation of an inspector general and qualified immunity.

# Public Act 19-59: An Act Increasing Fairness and Transparency in the Criminal Justice System

A Public Act that requires the DCJ to collect and publish statistics about prosecutors' actions alongside the Judicial Branch, the Department of Correction and the Criminal Justice Information System Governing Board, for public presentation.

# Public Act 18-5: An Act Concerning Dual Arrests and the Training Required of Law Enforcement Personnel with Respect to Domestic Violence

A Public Act requiring the DCJ "establish an education and training program for law enforcement officers, supervisors and state's attorneys on the handling of family violence incidents..." See, Section 2(f).

#### Prosecutors' Union Contract (Pros Union Contract)

# Collective Bargaining Agreement between State of Connecticut Division of Criminal Justice and Connecticut Association of Prosecutors, <u>Article 28, section</u> <u>7:</u>

"Section 7. Each employee shall participate in a minimum of sixteen (16) hours of professional development each fiscal/contract year. The labor-management advisory committee of Article 8 shall also serve as a Professional Development Advisory Committee. The Professional Development Advisory Committee shall make recommendations to the Chief State's Attorney on such matters as: Professional development programs to be offered in-house by the Division; Standards for giving credit to time spent in professional development activities other than those offered by the Division."

#### **Division of Criminal Justice Policy**

#### **DCJ Policy 220 Professional Development, Paragraph 4:**

"REQUIREMENTS FOR PERMANENT PROSECUTORS Pursuant to General Statute §51-279c and Article 28 Section 7 of the Prosecutors' Collective Bargaining Agreement, each prosecutor shall participate in a minimum of sixteen (16) hours of professional development each fiscal year. Effective January 1, 2017, year shall be defined as calendar year. Prosecutors with the title of Deputy Assistant State's Attorney shall participate in a minimum of forty (40) hours of professional development each fiscal year. This requirement shall be prorated for the fiscal year in which the individual begins employment as a permanent prosecutor and shall not apply to the fiscal year in which the individual is advanced to Assistant State's Attorney."